The history

Since 1969

  • 1960

    Paragraphe 1

    Born in Paris, Emmanuelle Khanh enters the fashion world at the end of the 50s as a model. At the beginning of the 60s, she becomes interested by styling and she collaborates with rising brands of the time – Cacharel or Missoni. She seizes a fast-changing time period: the liberation of the woman’s body, the democratization of fashion, the growing awareness of youth’s strength. At the avant-garde of these transformations, she imagines the wardrobe of the modern, free and active woman who emancipates of the stiff social yokes. Emmanuelle Khanh is the very first woman to draw models for the Créateur section of the La Redoute catalog.

    Share on Facebook
  • 1969

    Paragraphe 2

    In 1969, she launches her eponym brand of feminine ready-to-wear. Convinced that the fashion has to overcome the boundaries of Paris Haute Couture salons, Emmanuelle Khanh wants to free the forms and the materials, and to make fashion go down the streets. She revolutionizes the fashion of her time: through the forms, which offer to the women an ease of movement which they cannot found besides; through the materials she uses, as jeans or plastic. Inspired by her husband, the designer Quasar Khanh, famous for his inflatable plastic furniture, she reinvents this material for the cloth-making. These innovations, associated with stitches and embroideries, define her unique wardrobe. The success comes very fast.

    Share on Facebook
  • 1972

    Paragraphe 3

    In 1972, Emmanuelle Khanh launches a collection of glasses. In order to get the best, she starts working with the traditional workshops of Oyonnax (Jura, France) and imagines a line of oversized frames, which immediately becomes iconic. With Emmanuelle Khanh, glasses become fully a fashion accessory, the signature of an audacious style, bold and elegant at the same time.

    Share on Facebook
  • 1977

    Paragraphe 4

    In 1977, Emmanuelle Khanh opens her first shop on the left bank of Paris, 2 rue de Tournon, in the Quartier Latin. The most beautiful and most famous stores of the world will present her creations. To ready-to-wear and glasses, a line of jewels is added. It is inspired by the plant pattern and explores new materials, such as ceramic. Other accessories – hats, gloves and bags – are successively designed to eventually define a complete silhouette.

    Share on Facebook
  • 2009

    Paragraphe 5

    The House Emmanuelle Khanh is revived after its fade-out in the 90s. Glasses, the most outstanding element of the creator’s style, are the first to be designed again. EMMANUELLE KHANH PARIS remains faithful to its roots and draws from what constitutes the essence of the House: oversized frames with strong lines, rich materials, bold colors and handmade manufacture. The historic forms are reinterpreted: it is the inbeing of the Héritage collection, a unique line, with character and distinctive codes.

    Share on Facebook
  • 2016

    Paragraphe 6

    EMMANUELLE KHANH PARIS boosts its feminine ready-to-wear line. A first capsule collection is dedicated to mesh, and then the seasonal collections define one after the other the new style of the House. Designs are inspired the boldness of the creator, her faculty to understand the present and the way she uses unexpected materials. They are adapted to the new silhouette of today’s women. The materials play with volumes: mesh becomes oversized or skin-tighten, the plastic is revised through the prism of the Internet era, and velvet is adorned with disproportionate stripes. This wardrobe is completed by a line of accessory – gloves, hats and bags.

    Share on Facebook
  • 2016

    Paragraphe 7

    In the winter, Madam Khanh passes away in Paris. After having revolutionized the women’s fashion and the world of ready-to-wear clothing, she bequeaths much more than style to the future generations; she hands a militant and audacious state of mind and the will to reconcile the elegance and the strength of the women. 
    In the spring, the first Studio collection, glasses completely handmade in Japan, is presented. Arisen from the desire to work with new materials and new forms, this line studies the contrasts between materials and lighting effects: the thin titanium structures are associated with volumes that are sculptured in the acetate. As seasons go by, this new look becomes fully part of EMMANUELLE KHANH PARIS’s story. In the autumn, the first perfume of the House will be revealed.

    Share on Facebook

Fermer

Newsletter

Histoire de la maison

Depuis 1969

  • 1960

    Paragraphe 1

    Née à Paris, Emmanuelle Khanh entre dans le monde de la mode à la fin des années 50 en tant que mannequin. Au début des années 60, elle se tourne vers le stylisme et collabore avec les marques montantes de l’époque – Cacharel ou Missoni. Elle saisit une époque en pleine mutation : le corps des femmes se libère, la mode se démocratise, la jeunesse prend conscience de sa force. Visionnaire, elle imagine un vestiaire pour les femmes modernes, libres et actives désirant s’émanciper des carcans sociaux encore rigides. Elle est la toute première femme à dessiner des modèles pour la rubrique Créateur du catalogue La Redoute.

    Share on Facebook
  • 1969

    Paragraphe 2

    En 1969, elle lance sa marque éponyme de prêt-à-porter féminin. Convaincue que la mode doit dépasser les frontières des salons parisiens de la Haute Couture, Emmanuelle Khanh veut libérer les formes et les matières et faire descendre la mode dans la rue. Elle révolutionne la mode de son temps : à travers les formes, qui offrent aux femmes une aisance de mouvement qu’elles ne trouvaient nul par ailleurs ; à travers les matières utilisées, comme le jean ou le plastique. Inspirée par son époux, le designer Quasar Khanh, célèbre pour son mobilier en plastique gonflable, elle réinvente le matériau pour l’habillement. Ces innovations, alliées à de la maille et de la broderie, définissent un vestiaire unique. Le succès est immédiat.

    Share on Facebook
  • 1972

    Paragraphe 3

    En 1972, Emmanuelle Khanh lance une collection de lunettes. Pour cela, elle s’associe aux meilleurs ateliers de fabrication d’Oyonnax, dans le Jura, et imagine une gamme de montures marquées, volumineuses, aux lignes franches, immédiatement iconiques. Avec Emmanuelle Khanh, les lunettes deviennent un accessoire de mode à part entière, la signature d’un style audacieux, à la fois excentrique et élégant.

    Share on Facebook
  • 1977

    Paragraphe 4

    En 1977, Emmanuelle Khanh ouvre sa première boutique rive gauche, au 2 rue de Tournon, dans le quartier latin de Paris. Les plus beaux et les plus grands magasins du monde présenteront ses créations. Au prêt-à-porter et aux lunettes s’ajoute une ligne de bijoux, inspirée de motifs végétaux et explorant encore de nouvelles matières, comme la céramique. Viennent ensuite d’autres accessoires – chapeaux, gants et sacs – qui définissent une silhouette complète.

    Share on Facebook
  • 2009

    Paragraphe 5

    Après avoir disparu dans le courant des années 90, la Maison Emmanuelle Khanh est relancée. Elément le plus marquant du style de la créatrice, les lunettes sont les premières à renaitre. EMMANUELLE KHANH PARIS reste fidèle à ses racines et puise dans ce qui constitue l’essence de la Maison : des montures oversize aux lignes franches, des matières riches, des coloris audacieux et une fabrication française reconnue dans le monde entier. Les formes historiques sont réinterprétées : c’est là le cœur de la collection Héritage, une ligne unique en son genre, avec son caractère et ses codes distinctifs.

    Share on Facebook
  • 2016

    Paragraphe 6

    EMMANUELLE KHANH PARIS relance sa ligne de prêt-à-porter féminin : une première collection capsule est consacrée à la maille, puis les collections saisonnières définissent l’une après l’autre le nouveau style de la Maison. Inspirés de l’audace de la créatrice, de sa faculté à comprendre le présent et de son habilité à utiliser des matières inattendues, les vêtements s’adaptent aux exigences et à la nouvelle silhouette des femmes d’aujourd’hui. Les jeux de volume rencontrent les effets de matières : la maille devient tantôt oversize tantôt une deuxième peau, le plastique est revu à travers le prisme de l’ère Internet, le velours se pare de rayures démesurées. Ce vestiaire est complété par une ligne d’accessoire – gants, chapeaux et sacs.

    Share on Facebook
  • 2016

    Paragraphe 7

    A l’hiver, Madame Khanh décède à Paris. Après avoir révolutionné la mode féminine et le monde du prêt-à-porter, elle lègue aux générations futures bien plus qu’un style, mais un état d’esprit militant et audacieux et la volonté de concilier l’élégance et la force des femmes.
    Au printemps, la première collection Studio de lunettes entièrement réalisées à la main au Japon est présentée. Née d’un désir de travailler de nouvelles matières et de nouvelles formes, cette ligne étudie les contrastes entre les matières et les jeux de lumière : les structures fines en titane sont associées à des volumes sculptés dans l’acétate. Au fil des saisons, ce nouveau visage devient partie intégrante de l’histoire d’EMMANUELLE KHANH PARIS. A l’automne, le premier parfum de la Maison sera dévoilé.

    Share on Facebook

Fermer

Newsletter